The Apple of My Pie

The universe had sent me yet another sign…placed it on a durable plastic white dish…pushed it in my face and said LOOK at me!

We locked into each other’s connection at that exact moment in time when everything else fades into a pixelated background. When the only thing that was in focus was right in front of my face.

There he sat all snuggled up in his sweetness. Smells of his cinnamon cologne wafting through the breezes below my nose. His glimmer caught my eye and that’s when I realized how proud I was of the chef who took that apple species and transformed it into the most delectable apple pie. I mean I happen to know a good pie when I see one.

An apple pie with the most perfect combination of flaky, buttery, salty crust surrounding its outsides.

So taunting was this specimen that I was willing to do what I had to do to get me a piece of that…..pie.

That taste latched onto my fanny pack and followed me off the cruise ship all the way home.

I wanted to recreate that moment but in a cookie version to share with my dearest friends and foodies.

3:30 in the morning….the rain knocking on my window…inviting me to get to work on the newest cookie to add to the line up.

The base of this cookie is a chewy cinnamon snickerdoodle, topped with fresh apple pie filling, drizzled with a salted caramel, and then topped with a flaky pastry dough. It is incased in all the love that I felt at that moment when I first met that apple pie.

It is the APPLE OF MY PIE.

Leave a comment