Oat My Pie

Cookie and Vegan and Gluten Free….Oat My! How was I ever to make a cookie that was Vegan AND Gluten Free that was worthy of the extra 2 miles I had to run in order to fill my vessel with all its sugary goodness?

Well first of all for those that don’t know me….. I am that type who really likes when you are like “I bet you can’t do that?!” It’s like the reverse psychology shit we play on our kids. I use it all the time with my kids from “I bet you can’t be super sweet to your brother….there is no way!” and “Don’t eat that asparagus it’s going to turn you into a dinosaur….NO! Don’t you do it!!!!!” It still works EVERY time. Fast forward into this 40 year old body….the SHIT still works. It’s like a trigger that goes off inside of me and I’m like “well I will prove to them!”

So needless to say….I like a good challenge.

It came in the form of a text from a sweet herbivore that I have the pleasure of knowing “Hey Sarah it’s my birthday next week and I would love some of your yummy treats. My boyfriend is a Gluten Free Vegan. Do you have any desserts that we can both enjoy?”

My first thought was “Shit….no I have many yummy Vegan cookies, but none that are gluten free.” I could of simply told her no but I saw it as an opportunity to grow and a challenge.

Second of all for those that don’t know me….well I like to please people, take care of them….and will usually do so before taking care of myself. It brings me joy to see others happy as a result of my doings.

So with pleasure I trotted to the store with the greatest selection of unique food finds that a small town could offer and filled my cart with gluten free this and gluten free that, some vegan chocolate, and a few extra accessories. I was determined and a bit skeptical about this new cookie.

Thirdly…..for those of you that don’t know me….but just from this post are getting a good idea of my make up by now….I’m a bit obsessive with a sprinkle of perfectionism and a sometimes smaller sometimes bigger sprinkle of mania.

This cookie had to be just right. I mean for Gods sake who wants to eat a mediocre cookie for their birthday? And better yet who wants to waste calories on a treat that just kind of pleases their sugar fantasies?

Fourthly….for those of you that think you know me….I spend most of my days eating healthy and very routinely going to the gym. Matter of fact I’ve been going to the same gym for almost 12 years and at usually the same time most every day. There is that obsessive or addictive trait again. Anyways, the reason I need my “treats” to be “worth” it is because I work really hard at staying in shape. I happen to like sweets too. I was put on this earth to enjoy all types of food.

So this cookie not only needed to be good enough for this birthday but it needed to be good enough for anyone who wanted to treat themselves to a good time regardless of their herbivore, carnivore, or other status.

Trial and error, lots more error, and then finally. Oat My Pie was born. A chewy, slightly spiced, oatmeal cookie layered with a smear (I hate that word but it makes me giggle) of creamy vanilla spiced buttercream. My only dilemma now is to raisin or not to raisin? That is the question.

Leave a comment